This Forum is ARCHIVE only
For LightSwitch questions,
please use the official forums at:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/forums/en-US/lightswitch/threads


Trying to host simple App on ISS 7.5
Last Post 11 Mar 2013 10:05 PM by AlexK50. 7 Replies.
AddThis - Bookmarking and Sharing Button Printer Friendly
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
Geoff HirstUser is Offline
New Member
New Member
Send Private Message
Posts:6
Avatar

--
12 Mar 2012 02:48 AM

    Hi,

    I am a fairly seasoned .NET developer, and Lightswitch interested me so I took a look. No problems creating an app and running it. Problem comes when trying to host it on IIS. Works fine in IDE, both as client and Web App. However IIS screws up everything with the above message.

    I have burthered around with various edits to the web.config, nothing has made any difference. I even found somebody referring to this error as the 'dreaded error'. I have even taken authentication off and it still remained.

    It seems such a shame that something like Lightswitch's capabilities is wrecked by IIS, as it does seem to screw up so many things for people. My IIS by the way is on Win 7 Ultimate, and is on my development machine.

    Anyone got a solution?
    thanks in advance

    SYM

    Garth HendersonUser is Offline
    New Member
    New Member
    Send Private Message
    Posts:91
    Avatar

    --
    12 Mar 2012 04:57 AM

    I've been hosting LS "production" systems with IIS since Beta 1 (Beta 1 apps were run on in house servers for functions that were previously done manually as Beta 1 did not have a Go Live license).


    We are currently running 3 rather complex LS apps that all share a common database including a shared aspnet set of security tables.

    Currently we use a hosted Hyper-V VM with http://www.vservercenter.com


    I publish directly to the server from Visual Studio to IIS.   I've never had an easier deployment process.  It only takes one click.   
     


     

    Garth Henderson
    365 Solutions Group
    Geoff HirstUser is Offline
    New Member
    New Member
    Send Private Message
    Posts:6
    Avatar

    --
    12 Mar 2012 06:15 PM

    Hey Garth,


    Real pleased it works for you with no issues. Perhaps the reason you don't have the problem is because you have shared security tables, I don't know. What I do know is I am getting this message

    Load operation failed for query 'GetAuthenticationInfo'. The remote server returned an error: NotFound.Load operation failed for query 'GetAuthenticationInfo'. The remote server returned an error: NotFound.

    Like I said before, I have even turned off authentication and still this happens so I guess this message is some other type of authentication. The application works fine as a client app so the only area I could point the finger at is IIS. I am prepared to hold my hands up and have done something wrong, but to be honest, the message is pretty much useless, it really gives no place to go as I haven't created a routine called GetAuthenticationInfo, so that belongs to Microsoft.

    Apparently this is one of those 'catch-bucket' messages, a number of problems can cause this, which is always useful however, I have binged away and tried the suggestions for each problem found to no joy.

    Does anyone know if Lightswitch plays nice if you have Silverlight 5 installed? I know that VSLS 2011 worked with Silverlight 4 and I have seen a few sites break when silverlight 5 is used. Does the new VS 11 Beta version of Lightswitch play nice with Silverlight 5.

    I really am clutching at straws here, I don't know where to go next as it really should be as easy as Garth says.

    Michael WashingtonUser is Offline
    Send Private Message
    Posts:1313
    Avatar

    --
    12 Mar 2012 09:49 PM
    I would try deploying to another server. If it works you have something to compare to. Also use fiddler to see the messages going back and forth. For example when I did that one time I saw that the URL that was being called had "https" rather than "http".
    -----------
    Michael Washington
    http://LightSwitchHelpWebsite.com
    Geoff HirstUser is Offline
    New Member
    New Member
    Send Private Message
    Posts:6
    Avatar

    --
    13 Mar 2012 02:07 AM
    Hi guys,

    Thanks for your suggestions.

    I started using Fiddler yesterday to try and establish what might be going on. It revealed that this command is resulting in a 404.

    GET /sanctuary/Web/Microsoft-LightSwitch-Security-ServerGenerated-Implementation-AuthenticationService.svc/binary/GetAuthenticationInfo%20HTTP/1.1 HTTP/1.1

    Sanctuary is the name of my application and resultantly the name of the IIS website. It seems to be looking for this .svc file in the web folder, unless I am being too simplistic for it. However, it doesn't exist, this file doesn't exist anywhere in my folder structure so what is going on here I have no idea.

    I hoped to have found a solution when I found this thread

    http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Fo...f2a1211254

    However, still no joy.

    Must admit, Lightswitch is starting to lose it's shine for me, which is a real shame as I had some really big plans for it.

    Just one aside, I have the VS 11 Beta installed, anyone else got this installed and still able to run web based LS apps?
    thanks in advance.

    Michael WashingtonUser is Offline
    Send Private Message
    Posts:1313
    Avatar

    --
    13 Mar 2012 02:31 AM
    You have done this step:

    How to: Configure a Server to Host LightSwitch-Based Applications
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...81779.aspx

    and used the Publish Wizard feature to deploy the LioghtSwitch app to your IIS server?
    -----------
    Michael Washington
    http://LightSwitchHelpWebsite.com
    Geoff HirstUser is Offline
    New Member
    New Member
    Send Private Message
    Posts:6
    Avatar

    --
    13 Mar 2012 03:00 AM
    Michael,

    I have been here yes, however according to my WPI I have both the no local SQL and the local SQL installed. I do not remember installing them as all I have recently installed from the WPI has been a content management system and this laptop is a little over a month old.

    However, the WPI did report that I was missing VS2010 SP1, despite the fact that VS2010 reports SP1 being installed and IIS reported missing Basic Authentication. I am far from being an IIS wiz and resultantly I believe the problem to be with IIS but this fiddler result suggests that something hasn't been copied that should have. I worked thru your OnlineOrdering example over the weekend, and while this also works fine in the IDE as both a client and a web application I am going to publish this to IIS next once this update has taken place.

    Many thanks for your advice, appreciated.

    G.
    AlexKUser is Offline
    New Member
    New Member
    Send Private Message
    Posts:4
    Avatar

    --
    11 Mar 2013 10:05 PM
    In case somebody having the same problem: The first line in my web.config was "UserCodeAssemblies" value="Application.Common.dll;Application.Server.dll;Application.ServerGenerated.dll" after switching to: "UserCodeAssemblies" value="Application.Common.dll;Application.Server.dll;" the problem went away. Way to debug this: publish your lightswitch to a folder. Unzip and open the web site using visual studio.File->open->website
    You are not authorized to post a reply.


    Microsoft Visual Studio is a registered trademark of Microsoft Corporation / LightSwitch is a registered trademark of Microsoft Corporation